ADVERTISEMENT

Sports

WhatsApp incorporates new privacy features

ADVERTISEMENT

Meta Group’s instant messaging is rolling out new features to improve the privacy of its users, such as extending the time to delete a message and being able to discreetly leave a group.

WhatsApp is a great instant messaging service. But, like many other digital tools, it can lead to abuse. It is therefore very easy to obtain private information about someone from the phone number alone (see our handy fact sheet), and some functions of the application can lead to embarrassing situations – not to mention some form of spying in the most serious cases. WhasApp had already worked on the problem by allowing you to choose the contacts authorized to see their profile photo, their personal information as well as the time of the last connection, and to disable the notification Seen at for specific contacts. The Meta group – owner of WhatsApp but also of Facebook and Instagram – has continued its momentum since it announced on its blog on 9 August the gradual deployment of new functions aimed at giving users some control over the visibility of their personal information.

WhatsApp: new features to protect your privacy

Until now, users could delete a message sent on WhatsApp after one day, eight hours and sixteen seconds, a particularly precise timing. How announced on Twitter, this deadline has been extended. From now on, it is possible to delete a message up to sixty hours after sending it, that is two and a half days. However, the question can be asked about the usefulness of such a delay….

In the next month, users will be able to leave a group without all other participants in the conversation being notified, and therefore aware. Normally a small message appears in the conversation and the application even goes so far as to warn the other participants of this departure. Quite inconvenient when you want to be discreet, especially as a group can hold up to 256 participants. With the new option, no one will be aware of it – unless they consult and know the list of members by heart – with the exception of the group’s administrators, who will still receive a warning.

Finally, Mark Zuckerberg announced that single view messages will soon block screenshots, just like photos and videos uploaded to Snapchat. The application, in fact, allows you to send images for a limited time – they can only be viewed once – without leaving traces. Finally, in theory since some take the opportunity to take screenshots … For the moment Meta has not indicated any implementation date for this function, which is still in the test state, but is impatient “to distribute it to our users.” Other new security options are also expected to arrive in the coming months, as the group has said they want to continue “develop new ways to secure messages and make them as private and secure as face-to-face conversations.”

ADVERTISEMENT

Leave a Comment