Field of development of the CH: Slafkovsky present, Guhle and Mailloux injured


With the draft just finished, the Montreal Canadiens development camp will open on Sunday in Brossard. And Juraj Slafkovsky will be there too!

• Read also: Canadians: eleven new players … but only one from Quebec

• Read also: Then tell us the truth!

• Read also: Shane Wright resented by CH?

The Slovakian forward, who was the first overall pick at Thursday night’s auction, is one of 40 players expected in this field, including 23 forwards, 12 defenders and five goalkeepers.

Among the players who play on the blue line, however, it must be considered that Kaiden Guhle and Logan Mailloux are currently struggling with injuries. Defender Justin Barron is also on the spot, obtained in the exchange that sent Artturi Lehkonen to the Colorado Avalanche last March. 20-year-old Barron in particular played five games for the Canadiens last season.

Attackers Emil Heineman and Ty Smilanic will also be present, respectively acquired in the exchanges involving Tyler Toffoli with the Calgary Flames and Ben Chiarot with the Florida Panthers.

Sunday will be dedicated to testing and off-ice training. The development camp will continue until July 13 with sessions on ice, in two groups.

Seven Quebecers

In addition to Slafkovsky, the other 10 players selected by CH during the recent repechage will be present. This includes Filip Mesar, fellow countryman of Slafkovsky also picked in the first round (26th overall), Owen Beck of Ontario, selected at the start of the second round (33rd) and Quebec defender Miguel Tourigny, chosen in the seventh round (216e ) , among others.

“The list of players at the development camp includes 28 prospects drawn up by the organization, two players obtained as free agents, three by way of exchange as well as seven invited players”, summarized the organization of the Canadian, by way of communication.

Quebecers Joshua Roy, Xavier Simoneau, William Trudeau, Pierrick Dubé, Israel Mianscum and Nick Rhéaume will be part of this development field in particular.

-The forward Jan Mysak, chosen for the second round of the CH in 2020, will not be there as he will have to participate in the withdrawal of the Czech team, of which he will be the captain, for the Junior Hockey World Championship.

List of players present at the development camp

Forwards (23)

  • Owen Beck
  • Blake Biondi
  • Callum Chisholm
  • Luca Condotta
  • Jared Davidson
  • Pierrick Dube
  • Sean Farrel
  • Cedrick Guindon
  • Emil Heineman
  • Connor Joyce
  • Oliver Kapanen
  • Riley kidney
  • Philip Mesar
  • Israel Mianscum
  • Rhett Pitlick
  • Nick Reaume
  • Vinzenz Rohrer
  • Joshua Roy
  • Saverio Simoneau
  • Juraj Slafkovsky
  • Ty Smilanic
  • Jack Smith
  • Luca Tuc

Defenders (12)

  • Justin Barron
  • Adam Engstrom
  • Gianni Fierafratello
  • Kaiden Guhle (injured)
  • Ryan Hopkins
  • Lane Hutson
  • Logan Mailloux (injured)
  • Petteri Nurmi
  • Jayden Struble
  • Miguel Tourigny
  • William Trudeau
  • Arber Xhekaj

Guardians (5)

  • Emmett Croteau
  • Frederik Dichow
  • Jakub Dobes
  • Owen savory
  • Joe Vrbetic


Leave a Comment